VFW Oklahoma Youth & Teacher of the Year Winners

Mike Merit - 1/15/2020

On behalf of my Auxiliary counterpart Teresa Stevenson and myself, we would like to congratulate the winners of our Annual VFW Voice of Democracy, Patriot's Pen and Smart/Maher VFW National Citizenship Education Teacher of the Year contests.  As a Department, we had 425 Voice of Democracy entries that were reported, 2,180 Patriot's Pen entries and 12 Teacher of the Year entries.  I can tell you this, after reviewing all the entries that made it to the Department level, our judges had their work cut out for them.

 To each and everyone of you that made these programs work this year, from the bottom of my heart, I want to thank you.  Our continued outreach to the next generation and those who teach them ensures that our way of life and our great nation will continue to endure long after we are gone.  Your efforts in promoting these programs is sometimes a herculean effort, so again, thank you for everything that you do.


So, without further ado, here are our winners:


Teacher of the Year


2nd Place Lorie Hester Post 9969 D10

1st Place Beverly Hammontree Post 4884 D3


Middle School

2nd Place Brett Stokes Post 2027 D8

1st Place Ronna Haney Post 8798 D7


High School

2nd Place Brian Rukes Post 382 D13

1st Place David Bounds Post 4890 D10


Patriots Pen

3rd Place Heavyn Stone Post 8580 D14

2nd Place Barrett Love Post 1335 D15

1st Place Addisyn Smith Post 6141 D13


Voice of Democracy

3rd Place Makinley Kennedy Post 5263 D14

2nd Place Molly Moore Post 2855 D8

1st Place Journi James Post 8798 D7


Congratulations to all of our winners.  The Department will be contacting all of them shortly to go over arrangements to attend our Awards Ceremony and Banquet at our upcoming Mid-Winter Conference next month.




Michael L. Merit

State Senior Vice Commander

VFW Department of Oklahoma


Tulsa VFW is asking every Tulsan to donate just $1.00 to Post 577 to help keep the Post operational for the next 100 years!